Showcase Sunday/Letterbox Love/Stacking The Shelves/Bought, Borrowed & Bagged

Showcase Sunday banner

Showcase Sunday is a meme hosted by Vicky over at the Book, Biscuits and Tea blog to let readers know what book related items have come our way.

 

Letterbox Love is a meme hosted by Lynsey over at Narratively Speaking and this meme has a British feel to it.

I’ve opted to use the logo designed by Faye over at A Daydreamer’s Thoughts rather than the “official” one because I’m a sucker for old fashioned red postboxes.

STSmall

The Stacking The Shelves meme hosted by Tynga at Tynga’s Reviews to promote the books that we’re adding to our shelves.

Well, the

Finally, the most recent meme of this nature that has come to my attention is the Bought, Borrowed & Bagged meme hosted by Cimarron and Braine over at the Talk Supe blog and so I will be participating as part of this meme in addition to the three others that I’ve been taking part in.

Well, it may be new premises, but it’s “same old, same old” as it’s book haul time.  It’s been a few weeks that I’ve done one of these but a new blog is as good a reason as any to splurge.  (Well, that’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it).

Level 2 (The Memory Chronicles, #1)

“Level 2” by Lenore Appelhans

I’ve not heard too much about this book, but the cover, along with a very reasonable price tag, initially persuaded me to buy it.

The storyline of a young woman trapped in limbo also makes this book sound like an intriguing one to read.

My Sister Lives On The Mantelpiece

“My Sister Lives On The Mantelpiece” by Annabel Pitcher

This is a book that I’ve had on my Wish List for a while.  The whole idea of the story of a family who has been affected by a terrorist attack which is seen from the point of view of the family’s ten year old son made me look to buy this book.

The Pledge (The Pledge, #1)

“The Pledge” by Kimberly Derting

Another book that I’ve had my eye on for a while.  The whole concept of a young woman living in a country where class is divided by language sounds both chilling and intriguing to read.

Y: A Novel

“Y” by Marjorie Celona

I saw this book in my local branch of Waterstone’s last week and I put it on my Wish List as soon as I saw the premise on Goodreads of the story about a baby who is abandoned at the doors of a YMCA, along with her search to uncover her roots.

Life in Outer Space

“Life In Outer Space” by Melissa Keil

A romantic comedy which features a movie geek.  From this particular geek’s point of view, what’s not to like?

I found out about this book on a book haul a couple of weeks ago and it went straight on to my Wish List.

Wonder

“Wonder” by R. J. Palacio

This book was introduced to me by Faye from the “A Daydreamer’s Thoughts” blog.

Once I saw the synopsis on Amazon of a story about a boy who was born with a facial abnormality having to go into mainstream school after years of home schooling, plus the opinion that it has the power to move people after reading it, I knew that I had to buy it.

Slide

“Slide” by Jill Hathaway

This has been on my Wish List for a loooonnnnnnnnnnnng time.

I like the idea of a story where the hero is put into an impossible situation with no-one to turn to – in this case, the character of Vee who has the ability to slide into other people’s minds and who slides into the mind of a killer.

Alice in Zombieland (White Rabbit Chronicles, #1)

“Alice In Zombieland” by Gena Showalter

What can I say?  This is another book that I’ve had my eye on since I saw it on blogs.

Now, I don’t know too much about Gena Showalter’s writing because I’m not in her main target reading market of sexy paranormal books, but a friend of mine told me how good her books are, so I decided to give this mash-up of Alice In Wonderland with Zombies a go.  What’s there not to like?

Shattered Souls (Caitlynn O’Connell, #1)

“Shattered Souls” by Delilah Devlin

I saw this on a book haul and I liked the cover, mixed with the storyline of a P.I. with a paranormal edge.  Plus, for 99p, it was a steal of a price.

 

The Hobbit

“The Hobbit” by J. R. R. Tolkien

“In a hole in the ground there lived a hobbit”… and so started a modern day mythology which has become well loved the world over.  Only problem is, I’ve never taken the time to read this book.  However, I loved the first film in the trilogy so I decided to buy the book.

 

So, there we have it, the first haul for “The Wandering Bookworm”.  I hope that you like the new home.  As usual, please leave your comments and links below and I look forward to posting more awesome hauls and stuff.

Now, how did I used to sign off on that old site… Oh yeah, Happy Reading!!!

29 thoughts on “Showcase Sunday/Letterbox Love/Stacking The Shelves/Bought, Borrowed & Bagged

    • And thank you for being the first person to comment on my new blog.

      Slide was a book that has had my interest for a while and as the price tag was cheap, I decided to buy it. Wonder came highly recommended to me, so I decided to buy it on the first opportunity of having a splurge. (If you can call ten purchased books a spulrge). 😀

  1. Ooh I’ve read a few of these. My Sister Lives On The Mantelpiece is a sweet read. Quite unique. I’ve bought The Pledge but haven’t read it yet. I’ve recently read Y which was an interesting book, quite bleak though! I really liked Wonder too. It seems like our taste in books is very similar! Hope you enjoy your reads!

  2. I love that cover of The Pledge! It’s also an enjoyable read too.
    I have an ARC of Level 2 that I didn’t read yet, and I agree with you, the cover is GORGEOUS.
    Just a warning in case you didn’t know: Alice in Zombieland isn’t like Alice in Wonderland at all.
    Thanks for stopping by my STS earlier! (:

    • Thanks for visiting.

      The cover for Slide looked awesome when I saw it on a book haul a while ago… it’s just that I dragged my feet until it came down in price before buying it, but I’m looking forward to reading it. 🙂

    • Thanks.

      Level 2 was on my list for a while and I was simply lucky that it had come down in price when I decided to splurge.

      As for Wonder, I’ve heard that too and it came highly recommended, so I decided to give it a whirl. (Plus I kept seeing it join bookstores as well, so I think that was a hint as well). 🙂

  3. Awesome haul! I really, really loved Alice in Zombieland and hope you do too. Level 2 and Life in Outer Space both look like really good books. I’ve always wanted to read The Pledge for such a long time. I hope you enjoy all of your wonderful books and thanks for stopping by my STS =)

    • Hi.

      Thanks for visiting.

      I just decided to have a proper splurge this week, and I decided to get a lot of books that I’ve been hankering for. I’m glad to have picked out a few that are favourites of the bloggers out there.

  4. I didn’t really like Level 2, but I hope you do, many people enjoyed it and it’s pretty original. The Pledge on the other hand, I loved, also very original. Lots of great books, I hope you love them all! Thank you for stopping by my blog!

    • You’re more than welcome and thank you for stopping by my blog.

      There have been quite a few books released which I thought I should buy when the money permitted. The fact that The Pledge and Level 2 were relatively cheap when I bought them helped in my choice.

      Hope that you enjoy your books for this week.

    • You’re more than welcome and thank you for stopping by my blog.

      There have been quite a few books released which I thought I should buy when the money permitted. The fact that The Pledge and Level 2 were relatively cheap when I bought them helped in my choice.

  5. Hi, there! Sorry it took me so long to come over and comment back…it’s been kind of a rough week! But here I am! And hey…you have some really GREAT books in your haul! I’ve been hearing wonderful things about “Level 2”, so I’m putting this one on my wish list. I see that you bought “The Pledge”, too! I bought a signed copy just last weekend, but with a different cover. As for the “The Hobbit”…I LOVE this book!!!! I’m a HUGE Tolkien fan!!!!! I have several editions of The Lord of the Rings. Great that you got this book!!!! YAY!!! “Shattered Souls” looks really good, so I’ll have to find out more about it. As for the others, I’ll also have to check them out!! Hope you enjoy reading your books! Thanks for sharing!! : )

    • Hi there.

      It doesn’t matter about how long it’s taken for you to comment. I know what it’s like to be busy and it’s lovely to see comments, no matter when they’re posted.

      Signed books are always lovely to get your hands on. I managed to get to three book signings myself last year and I’m always on the look out for more.

      Looking forward to reading my books for this week.

      Hope that you enjoy your reads.

    • I’ve been toying with the idea of this book, then a booktuber who is as friend of mine recommended Gena Showalter’s writing, even though I’m not into the work that she’s more known for.

      Looking forward to reading it, along with the other books I’ve bought.

      Thanks for visiting.

Leave a Reply

