Archive Article – Desert Island Books with Catriona from “Little Book Owl”

First published 04/05/12

Hi everyone and welcome to this new regular posting.

 

“What is Desert Island Books?” I hear you ask.  Well, this posting is a book related take on the BBC radio programme “Desert Island Discs”.  However, rather than selecting different types of music with which the subject chooses to be stranded on a desert island with, I’m handing over control of this blog to a person within the book blogging/vlogging community to tell the readers about eight books with which they want to be stranded on a desert island with and say why they selected them.

 

In addition to the books, they are allowed one luxury item.  The only rule is that they are not allowed any form of e-reader due to the amount of books that can be stored on them.

 

After the initial trial attempt of this article with Lesley from “Words Of A Reader”, I have, as promised, picked Catriona from the “Little Book Owl” blog and vlog to be the next shipwrecked reader to wash up on this literary desert island.  So, I’ll hand you over to Catriona to tell you about her picks.

 

 

“The Hunger Games” by Suzanne Collins

 

“I could read this book over and over and over. It is one of the few books I have re-read, and just an awesome book. If the island I were stuck on was similar to the arena, it might even be encouraging! If Katniss can survive, then surely I can (I might have to learn how to make a bow and arrow beforehand, though).”

 

 

“Divergent” by Veronica Roth

 

“Another one that I have re-read. Just full of awesomeness, and leaves my swooning over Four.”

 

“The Night Circus” by Erin Morgenstern

 

“This world is so magical, and fantastical. This book would be great to have, as some of the chapters are written in second person, meaning the reader becomes a part of the story. It is the type of book that I can get completely lost in and forget where I am (which would be useful if I were stuck on an island, for sure).”

 

 

“The Book Thief” by Markus Zusak

 

“This is probably my favourite book of all time. It is just beautifully written, and if I were in any situation where I could only select a certain amount of books, this will ALWAYS be one of those.”

 

“Lord of the Flies” by William Golding

 

“Considering the story revolves around a bunch of boys stranded on a desert island, I think this would be a handy book. In addition to being entertaining, I would pick out some handy tips on what to do.. and what NOT to do on an island.”

 

“Disney Classic Treasury”

 

“I am a HUGE Disney fan, and my Classic Treasury is one of my prized books. I still remember constantly flicking through the pages when I was younger, and I have no doubt that I could read the tales over and over again. Plus, it is mostly pictures, so it would give my eyes a break from pages crammed with words.”

 

“Cinder” by Marissa Meyer

 

I love fairytales, and I love this retelling even more. After finishing reading this book, I could not stop thinking about it. On a desert island, I think this may also give me some fuel for my brain – it would keep me distracted as I think of cyborgs and princes.

 

“The Host” by Stephenie Meyer

 

“This was probably the first novel I had ever read twice. I loved this book. And since it is fairly long as well, it would keep my occupied for hours.”

 

“If I were to pick just one luxury item, it would be… maybe an art sketch set. I love to draw, and since I am a perfectionist, I could keep myself entertained with a pencil and paper (and a few erasers).”

 

A big thanks to Catriona for sparing time from her schedule to take part in this article please drop me a line on Twitter.

 

As an extra treat this week, I’m going to feature an additional blogger next week and my next shipwrecked person will be Hazel aka “chocolatequeen20000”.  So, if you’d like to find out about Hazel’s choice of Desert Island Books, come back to the blog on Wednesday 9th May.

Leave a Reply

