Archive Article – Desert Island Books with “Chocolatequeen20000”

First published 09/05/12

Hi everyone,

 

Well, here’s another in my series of “Desert Island Books” and I’m turning the blog over to my book vlogger friend Hazel, aka “chocolatequeen20000” to say which books she’d love to be stranded on a desert island with.  So, without further ado I’m handing control over to Hazel.

 

pic.twitter.com/QRHIKGYo

 

“By my thinking, if I’m going to be indefinitely stuck on a desert island I would rather like to have my favourite books with me. Who wouldn’t? So while my favourites might not be the cream of the literature type crop, the classics or the must reads, they’re still without doubt my favourites and they are the ones I would want to be stuck with in a Lost style scenario. Until the end, the last breath… or until I manage to escape on the backs of some sea turtles.”

 

“1) ‘The Fault in our Stars’ by John Green – I start my list with not one but two books that contradict the rule. As terrible as it sounds, I have not yet read this book. My intention was to wait till the hype died down then some prat on Goodreads ruined it for me, along with several others, by carelessly starting a thread with a major plot spoiler. So if I’m going to be stuck on an island I’m going to spend the time reading this book where no one can ruin it for me.”

 

“2) ‘The Time Travellers Wife’ by Audrey NiffeneggerAnother book that I haven’t yet read. However, I’ve seen the film and rather liked it.  One of my friends has read and loved this book so is trying to talk me into reading it.”

 

“3) ‘Shiver’ by Maggie StiefvaterThe first book in the ‘Wolves of Mercy Falls’ series. It’s about Grace (Human) and Sam (Wolf in the winter, human when it’s warm enough).  It’s a pretty cute YA paranormal that is sweet and sad and happy all at the same time. I have read the book and I’m currently listening to it as an audiobook. Note :Since I can only take 8 books I wouldn’t take the sequels but I would seriously recommend the rest of the series, especially the last one.”

 

“4) ‘Bitten’ by Kelley Armstrong – The first book in the ‘Women of the Otherworld’ series.  This is an adult paranormal romance about Elena who is trying to live a mortal and normal life with her mortal and normal boyfriend. Unfortunately for her, she is the only female werewolf in the world and her “pack” wants to come back home which means facing the man who bit her and changed her life. A page turner if ever there was one and Clay (naughty male werewolf) positively smoulders.”

 

“5) ‘Perfect Chemistry’ by Simone ElkeleA contemporary YA about Brittany and Alex. They are from different worlds, he is a poor Mexican boy and she is a rich white girl. When they are paired together for a science project at school they clash to begin with but slowly they realise that they have more in common than they might have originally thought. Alex is my ultimate book crush as he’s just such a conflicted character who is just such a sweetie at heart.”

 

“6) ‘Hush Hush’ by Becca FitzpatrickA YA paranormal romance about Nora (Human) and Patch (A fallen angel). A bit like ‘Perfect Chemistry’, the two find themselves paired together for a school assignment and to begin with they butt heads but as the story progresses they start falling for each other. From another review, ‘Patch is the bad boy Edward wishes he could be’. He is just such a sarky individual sometimes but it’s hard not to love him. He is soppy, he has a back bone and a smart mouth.”

 

“7) ‘Stray’ by Rachel VincentIt’s the first book in the ‘Shifters’ series. The book is about Faythe who is a very rare female cat shifter who has left her pride to try and be independent, but where would the book be if that all went to plan. Stuff starts going down and Faythe has to go back to her pride, to the man who she loved and left and to the man she flirts with as just a bit of fun. As the series progresses, Vincent builds a love triangle that will leave you confused as hell and torn as to who you want to succeed.”

 

“8) ‘Dark Needs at Night’s Edge’ by Kresley ColesThis is my favourite book out of the series (it’s also the first one I read because I didn’t realise it was 5th).  It’s an adult paranormal romance about Conrad Wroth who is a very powerful vampire, who drinks people to death whose voices now echo around in his head.  The powers that be tell his brothers that unless his blood lust can be stopped he will be put out of his misery. His brothers capture him and hold him in an old mansion in the hopes that they can nurse him back to health. This sounds like a really good plan asides from the fact that the house belongs to Néomi, a ballet dancer from the 20’s, who was murdered in cold blood and is now forced to walk the halls of her house. No one can see her usually but now Conrad can he doesn’t know if she’s real or just a figment of his demented mind.”

 

“Basically, my thinking behind my choices for most of these books is that if I must be stranded on an island I would love to do it with such lovely fictional men. For my luxury item, I would have to take my duvet because there’s nothing better than being tucked up in bed at night with a good book… although saying that, I wouldn’t exactly have a bedside light to read by on a desert island.”

 

A big Thank You to Hazel for taking the time out of her busy schedule to take part in this article. If you’d like to subscribe to Hazel’s YouTube channel, just follow the link.

 

If you’d like to take part in “Vlog Of The Week” or “Desert Island Books”, please contact me through my Goodreads or YouTube accounts, or through Twitter.

Leave a Reply

