Archive Article – Desert Island Books with Faye from “A Daydreamer’s Thoughts”

First published 23/06/12

Hi everyone,

 

After a couple of weeks absence, I’m back with the Desert Island Books post.  This week’s stranded bibliophile is the lovely Faye from the A Daydreamer’s Thoughts blog.  Why do I say “lovely”?  Well, Faye was one of the first people who really inspired me as a blogger and was very supportive, giving me avenues of communication, such as the use of Twitter and so on.

 

Anyway, I’m going to hand you over to Faye and let her tell you which books she’d like to be stranded on a desert island with.

 

 

 

I think I should first say that it took me a while to get around to writing this post because I really wanted to make sure that I highlighted the right books – apparently I really got into the role and thought I was about to be stranded on an island with only eight books to keep me company for the entire time. Nowthat would be a monstrosity, don’t you think? Anyway, without wasting any more time, here are the books that I finally decided upon.

“Harry Potter and the Order of Phoenix” by J. K. Rowling

Now, I could have said I’ll take the entire series with me and just continue to enjoy them over and over but as much as I love them, I know that I probably couldn’t just read them and then only one other book. So instead, to keep my fan-flailing self sane, I am adding my favourite book of this series to my collection. I feel I could read this one and still remember what had happened before it and what will be coming next without having to read it. Besides, I just love this one. ❤

“Lucas” by Kevin Brooks

This is, ultimately, my favourite book ever. It was the first book I read that didn’t have a happy ending and I just fell in love with it instantly. Kevin honestly has a way with words and every book of his that I have read, I simply adored. Besides, this book happens on an island and what better way to feel at home in your surroundings then reading a book set in a similar place? Yes, this one was not going to slip by without a mention.

“Noughts and Crosses” by Malorie Blackman

Another insta-love book for me. It is one that I read and the story has just stayed with me and I know I could read, re-read and re-read this book again without ever getting bored of the storyline. It is simply an amazing and inspiring story. It would make the perfect addition to my collection, yes, yes it would.

“Divergent” by Veronica Roth

This book is a new love for me but I just know that it is one that I would be able to read over and over again. The love between Four & Tris – yeap, that’d keep me happy for a while, I’m sure of it! I also feel that the story would be able to give me hope, you know? If they live in that horrid world and manage to survive, I could too, right? xD

“P. S. I Love You” by Cecelia Ahern

Another one of my favourite books of all time – and yes, the book is ten times better than the film. This book had me crying and laughing at the same timeand when stranded on an island I feel that it is necessary to laugh a bit and I just know that this book will keep me in touch with my emotions so this too, is a must have with me.

“Keeping Faith” by Jodi Picoult

Yes, you guessed it, another one of my favourites! Not only is the title simply essential to have when you’re stranded – because you would probably need to keep faith – the story is also extremely powerful and interesting and definitely something I could read again and again and again without fail. And I’m not religious in the slightest!

“Dear John” by Nicholas Sparks

I could not get through this list without having a Nicholas Sparks book on the list. I love this man. He is such a talented his writer and his stories always leave me in tears yet also, surprisingly, feeling slightly better about things. He has such a way with words that it draws me onto the page, leaving me feeling breathless as I just try and read more. I feel that this book in particular would work well on an island because John is sent away to the army and separated from the love of his life – just like you may be – so it might just be the comfort you need!

“A Thousand Splendid Suns” by Khaled Hosseini

There was absolutely no way that this amazing author was going to be missed in this list. He is a legend in my eyes and I am urgently awaiting him to pick up the pen and write another dazzling book to take my breath away. That being said, I have chosen this book because I loved it. It is definitely preferable over The Kite Runner but only just! This story is just a spectacle of amazingness and I would easily pick it up time and time again without fail.

Phew! What a list of books! There are so many more that were itching to get onto this list but eventually I had to stamp on their little hearts and include these ones only. Hopefully, if I really was stranded, I will have all of these books at my disposal, otherwise I’d probably cry a little and kick myself – why make a list if you don’t follow it! 😉

As for my one extra item, I would pick my iPod. If there is one thing, aside from Books, that I could not live without it is music. Of course, I would have to hope that the battery life lasted for eternity or it came with a charger and there was miraculously a plug somewhere on the island… but now we’re just stepping away from the hypothetical instant altogether, aren’t we? But yes, music is a must. Even when I’m reading I’m listening to music, so really, for me, the two are part in parcel.

I want to thank Theta for allowing me to write this post, I have to admit that I had a great time writing it and hope that I didn’t ramble too much for it! Thanks again.

Faye

 

 

 

Thanks Faye.  Don’t worry, you didn’t ramble and it was fantastic to be introduced to some more new books.  Please check out Faye’s blog as she does a lot of work promoting new and established members of the book blogging community.

 

If you’d like to get involved with either Desert Island Books or Vlog Of The Week, please feel free to contact me by Twitter.

Leave a Reply

