Archive Article – Desert Island Books with Leigh Parker

First published 09/06/12

Hi everyone,

 

This is a first for the “Resolution Corner” site as I’ve managed to shipwreck an author on to my “Desert Island Books” article.

 

Leigh Parker is the author of independently released book, “10 Ways To Kill A Cupid” (please check out my review here) and the forthcoming sequel “10 Ways To P**s Off A Reaper”.  So, I’m going to hand over the blog to Leigh to tell you about her Desert Island Books.

 

 

“Fried Green Tomatoes at The Whistle Stop Cafe” by Fannie Flagg

 

“This is my favourite book and the only one that I’d ever read twice.  I’ve read all seven of Fannie Flagg’s books and I’m always eagerly awaiting her next one which usually takes between three to four years to come out.  I envy the warm community spirit that’s present in every one of her books.”

 

 

“The Neverending Story” by Michael Ende

 

“I’ve never read a more fantastical book than this.  I’ve read a few fantasy books that I’ve enjoyed but they always seem to have creatures and characters that have been used before i.e. Witches, Wizards, Werewolves, Vampires, Greek/Roman/Egyptian/Norse mythology and the occasional Boggart, but in this book, Michael Ende has created a whole bunch of characters and scenarios.  It’s also a lot different and a lot better than the film which was my childhood favourite (worn out on Betamax and VHS).  The Nothing has to be the worst baddie ever.”

 

 

“Bag of Bones” by Stephen King

 

“I’m not a great lover of books whose main protagonist is a writer, so I’m contradicting myself in liking this.  I’ve read a few of Stephen King’s, thirty maybe, but this one is the only one that had a death scene and an ending that I didn’t see coming.”

 

 

“On The Beach” by Nevil Shute

 

“One of the great Dystopian novels.  Russia has bombed China over land mass.  Radiation from said bomb wipes out the entire Human population, thanks to the prevailing winds, except in the Southern part of Australia where it is yet to reach but will inevitably do so in only a matter of weeks.  The book tells of how a handful of characters prepare for their own demise.  It has a macabre sense of our destine fate:  Two fighting countries, one drops a bomb on the other, the rest of the world pay for it.”

 

 

“Diary of a Nobody” by George and Weedon Grossmith

 

“Written originally as a serial in a newspaper, the story of a Victorian Gentleman who always laughs at his own crap jokes and is puzzled as to why no one else does.  His DIY skills aren’t up to much either when he paints his bath with red enamel paint, only for it to come off in the first instant when hot water touches it, covering him in the stuff.”

 

 

“Stardust” by Neil Gaiman

 

“A love story between a young lad and a star.  I can’t say more than that.”

 

 

“Fahrenheit 451” by Ray Bradbury

 

“The premise of this book has happened before in history and will no doubt happen again and again.  Books are banned.  The Thought Police have reared their ugly head to prevent anyone from learning anything.  The main character has, unbeknown to his wife, a hidden stash of books and he sweats profusely over the dire consequences of someone finding out and shopping him.”

 

 

“The Mayor of Casterbridge” by Thomas Hardy

 

“The first Thomas Hardy book I read which spawned a bucket list entry of mine to read every one he’s written.  I was put off for a long time in reading anything by him with the false sense of his books being difficult and long-winded but I was mistaken.  It kind of reminded me of a Sunday omnibus of EastEnders, with plenty of twists and turns and shocking outcomes.”

 

 

For her luxury item, Leigh said that she’d take, “a 10 x 20 ft piece of tarpaulin for many reasons… waterproof shelter and rain collector the main two.”

 

If you’d like to know more about Leigh, please follow her blog.

 

Leigh has also started an information and shop site for her books which can be found here.

Leave a Reply

