Archive Article – Vlog Of The Week: “theclaudereads”

First published 26/05/12

Hi everyone or, more appropriately for this posting, “Salut tout le monde”, (I admit… I used Google Translate)

 

 

This weekend I’ll be running two Vlog Of The Week articles and the first one of this weekend is for the YouTube channel “theclaudereads” hosted by Claudia.  Without further ado, I’ll let Claudia introduce herself.

 

 

Hi, my name is Claudia and I recently started reading again. I was an obsessive bookworm growing up. I don’t really know where it came from, but my best guess is that my mom would allow me to stay up a bit later if I was reading a book in bed and didn’t say anything about it to my brother. I would select books at the library according to size, walking down alleys to spot the biggest one that I hadn’t read yet. I was also a fan of comic books and graphic novels, just like my father was. I said I recently started reading again because this obsession slowly faded out when I started university. I had so much to read for school that I forgot how it was to read for fun. I graduated last summer, and since then, I have dived back into the wonderful world of reading.

 

I started book vlogging on Youtube in March of this year. I’m now proudly part of an amazing community, full of passionate and intelligent people who love to talk about books and their themes. The first book vlogger I discovered was Priscilla from the readables and then, a whole new world just opened up for me! What tipped me over the edge and convinced me I should start vlogging about books is the realisation that there is no one in my entourage that reads on a regular basis and is aware of what is happening in the book world! I wanted to share my passion with people.”

 

 

Your favourite genres

I don’t have one particular genre, I just enjoy fiction in general. I enjoy a good thriller as much as sci-fi or contemporary novels. What I look for in a book is to escape my reality, so anything that provides action and adventure is a winner. More often than not, I will prefer a story that will make me think and feel. I love it when I finish a book and it troubles me for a few days, making me question what I take for granted. I also love a good historical fiction.”

Favourite individual books

My favourite classic is probably Les Misérables by Victor Hugo, or anything by Balzac. My first language is French, so I’ve read a lot more francophone classics than anglophone ones.


“The book that impacted me the most in high school was 1984 by George Orwell, closely followed by Brave New World by Aldous Huxley.

“Lately, I fell in love with The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini, La Part de L’Autre by Éric- Emmanuel Schmitt (a novel that explores the life of Adolf Hitler and its parallel: what would have happened if he had been accepted to the Fine Arts School of Vienna in 1908), The Beach by Alex Garland and Genus by Jonathan Trigell.”

Favourite characters

My two favourite characters are straight out of the Harry Potter series: Ron Weasley and Snape. I grew up with Harry Potter and had almost the same age as him everytime a new book was coming out. The series also eased me into reading more books in english as a teenager. I read the first four in French, and then got tired of waiting around for the translation, and so my brother and I switched to the original version!


“I love Ron because he is kind and an amazing friend to Harry and Hermione. He is so personable and the one that I found the most inspiring, because he has fears, but decides to face them.

“I love Snape because he is dark and misunderstood. He has a painful past that spills over to the present, making him complex and interesting. His story really broke my heart
and I loved how it gave the series a shade of grey, making it obvious that there is rarely only the good and the bad.”

If you’d like to check out more of Claudia’s vlog postings, check out her channel.

 

 

The next Vlog Of The Week article will be up on the site later in the weekend.

Happy Reading!!!

Leave a Reply

