Book Haul: Showcase Sunday/Letterbox Love/Stacking The Shelves/Booked, Borrowed & Bagged – 17 March 2013

Showcase Sunday banner

Showcase Sunday is a meme hosted by Vicky over at the Book, Biscuits and Tea blog to let readers know what book related items have come our way.

Letterbox Love is a meme hosted by Lynsey over at Narratively Speaking and this meme has a British feel to it.

I’ve opted to use the logo designed by Faye over at A Daydreamer’s Thoughts rather than the “official” one because I’m a sucker for old fashioned red postboxes.

STSmall

The Stacking The Shelves meme hosted by Tynga at Tynga’s Reviews to promote the books that we’re adding to our shelves.

Well, the

Finally, the Bought, Borrowed & Bagged meme hosted by Cimarron and Braine over at the Talk Supe blog.

Hi everyone,

Well, although I’m away on a wee break in Ireland, I thought that I couldn’t leave you hanging on for a book haul.  Trust me, I tried to resist from spending money on more books, but then I thought, “Sod it!!!”

The Host: A Novel

“The Host” by Stephenie Meyer

I was in two minds in buying this book as I was more than a little disappointed with the cinematic journey that was “The Twilight Saga”.  However, I’m a bit of a sucker for sci-fi and various bloggers have suggested that I give it a try… plus the film version stars Saoirse Ronan who I thought was awesome in “Death Defying Acts”, “The Lovely Bones”, “Hanna” and “The Way Back”.

Mr Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore

“Mr Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore” by Robin Sloan

What can I say?  I’ve been fascinated with the title of this book since I saw it in a haul.  I mean… IT’S A BOOK… ABOUT A BOOKSTORE!!!

Undone (Unraveling, #1.5)

“Undone” by Elizabeth Norris

I haven’t read “Unravelling” (or “Unraveling” dependent on which side of “The Big Pond” you’re from), but this novella which bridges the gap between the first book and the forthcoming “Unbreakable” was a steal at 99p, so I decided to buy it.

Flat-Out Love

“Flat-Out Love” by Jessica Park

My friend, and vlogger, Hazel (aka chocolatequeen20000) recently started this book, at the time of writing and I looked up the synopsis at her suggestion.

The promise of love, mystery and a “whopping, knock-you-to-your-knees romance” inspired me to buy this book… alongside the suggestion of a friend.

WANTED: Dead or Undead (The Zombie West Series, #1)

“Wanted: Dead or Undead” by Angela Scott

I found out about this book through Twitter.  Initially, I did put it on my Wish List to buy at a later date, but the price for the Kindle version was reduced earlier in the week so I decided to buy it virtually straight away, and besides, a Western with ZOMBIES… what’s not to like???

The Loveliest Chocolate Shop in Paris

“The Loveliest Chocolate Shop In Paris” by Jenny Colgan

Okay, I admit, the only one of Jenny’s previous works that I’ve read is her “Doctor Who” tie-in, “Dark Horizons” (please check out my review), but I knew that I had to buy this book as soon as I saw it advertised last year on Amazon as I loved her writing in that particular book.

Plus, there is the promise of mouth-watering recipes within the book as in Jenny’s other confectionary based works such as “Welcome To Rosie Hopkins’ Sweetshop of Dreams” and “Meet Me At The Cupcake Cafe”.

Bring Me Sunshine

“Bring Me Sunshine” by Wendy Morer

Okay, I’ll admit that when I saw the title for this book on Twitter, I thought, probably like a lot of people would of my age of the comedy duo of Eric Morecambe and Ernie Wise, but when I saw the synopsis about a teenager who wants to be a rock star, alongside living with the difficulties of coping with a family where the father has an illness relating to his memory, I decided to pick up this freebie.

And that’s it for this week.  As usual, please leave your comments and blog links below and I’ll look up your hauls in return.

Happy reading!!!

11 thoughts on “Book Haul: Showcase Sunday/Letterbox Love/Stacking The Shelves/Booked, Borrowed & Bagged – 17 March 2013

  1. Great haul 🙂 Really hope you enjoy The Host!!! Personally I thought it was really good when I read it so hope you like it too 🙂

    Ooooh I love Jenny Colgan’s books! The last one I bought of hers was ‘Christmas At The Cupcake Cafe’ and as well as enjoying the story – the recipes were fantastic and I had a lovely time making them! Hope you enjoy her new one, I’m hoping to buy it in the next few weeks 🙂

    Happy Sunday 🙂

    Megan xxxxxxxxxxxxx

    My Showcase Sunday if you’d like a look 🙂

  2. Great haul!!!i have a few of those on my to-read list, whenever I get to that! Have fun on your vacation in Ireland, and watch out, it is St. Patrick’s Day… 🙂

  3. Haha, I love books set in bookstores or libraries! Some lovely looking books there, hope you enjoy them! I liked The Host, I thought it was much better than Twilight. Happy reading and have a great week 🙂

  4. Pingback: Double Trouble Review: The Lovely Bones (Book + Film) | Bitches With Books

Leave a Reply

