Book Haul:Showcase Sunday/Letterbox Love/Stacking The Shelves/Bought, Borrowed & Bagged – 30 March 2013

Showcase Sunday banner

Showcase Sunday is a meme hosted by Vicky over at the Book, Biscuits and Tea blog to let readers know what book related items have come our way.

Letterbox Love is a meme hosted by Lynsey over at Narratively Speaking and this meme has a British feel to it.

I’ve opted to use the logo designed by Faye over at A Daydreamer’s Thoughts rather than the “official” one because I’m a sucker for old fashioned red postboxes.

STSmall

The Stacking The Shelves meme hosted by Tynga at Tynga’s Reviews to promote the books that we’re adding to our shelves.

Well, the

Finally, the Bought, Borrowed & Bagged meme hosted by Cimarron and Braine over at the Talk Supe blog.

Well, it’s been a couple of weeks since my last haul post and thanks to having some money left at the end of the month, plus the last little bit of my Christmas vouchers, I decided to treat myself following the return to work after a week off.

Mila 2.0 (MILA 2.0, #1)

“Mila 2.0” by Debra Driza

I read the prequel chapter and promotional primer, “Origins: The Fire“, back in January and I have been really looking forward to getting into this book after being left on a cliffhanger.

The Madness Underneath (Shades of London, #2)

“The Madness Underneath” by Maureen Johnson

Speaking of cliffhangers, it’s been over a year since I was left hanging on the climax of Maureen’s first book in “The Shades Of London” series, “The Name Of The Star” which introduced readers to her heroine, Rory Duveaux.

In case you haven’t guessed already, this is another read that I have been really looking forward to.

The New Hunger (Warm Bodies, #0.5)

“The New Hunger” by Isaac Marion

I enjoyed “Warm Bodies” as a book and as a film adaptation, so I was pleasantly surprised to find out that Isaac Marion has released a prequel to it which links some of the stories from the original book whilst adding to their respective back stories.

Hopeless (Hopeless, #1)

“Hopeless” by Colleen Hoover

She’s going to be bored with my name checking her, but this book was recommended to me by my friend Hazel (aka Chocolatequeen20000) after I finished “Pushing The Limits”.  It didn’t hurt that it was 77p, as well.

Doctor Who: Remembrance of the Daleks: 50th Anniversary Edition

“Doctor Who: Remembrance Of The Daleks” by Ben Aaronovitch

Before he became known for writing the “Peter Grant” books, Ben Aaronovitch scripted two stories for “Doctor Who”.  This novel is based on the first of his two scripts which was televised in 1988.

As with my purchase of a couple of weeks ago, “The Silent Stars Go By”, this book forms part of the range to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the series in 2013.

Argo: How the CIA and Hollywood Pulled Off the Most Audacious Rescue in History

“Argo: How The CIA And Hollywood Pulled Off The Most Audacious Rescue In History” by Antonio Mendez and Matt Baglio

I predicted that the film would get an Oscar, which it did, alongside triumphs at the Golden Globes and the BAFTAs.  On the back of how much I liked the film, I decided to buy the book which is co-written by Antonio Mendez, the CIA agent portrayed by Ben Affleck in the film, and Matt Baglio.

Confessions of an Angry Girl (Confessions, #1)

“Confessions Of An Angry Girl” by Louise Rozett

The book has been on my Wish List for quite a while, the fact that it is part of the Amazon Spring Sale at 99p made it a quick purchase.

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (Charlie Bucket, #1)

“Charlie and the Chocolate Factory” by Roald Dahl

This was a relatively cheap purchase for the Kindle and a book that I have a great deal of sentiment as it was one of the first books that I bought as a child to read at my leisure, rather than one that I had to read for school.  (My very first book that I can recall buying personally to read for leisure was “Emil and the Detectives” by Erich Kastner).

Coffeehouse Angel

“Coffeehouse Angel” by Suzanne Selfors

I saw this book on a book haul post a few weeks ago and I like the idea of romance where the fantasy meets the reality of a woman meeting a guardian angel in the setting of a coffee shop.

Belfast Taxi: A Drive Through History, One Fare at a Time

“Belfast Taxi: A Drive Through History, One Fare At A Time” by Lee Henry

I saw this book in the shop at the Crumlin Road Gaol and bought the Kindle version this week.  I was very impressed by the knowledge of the taxi  drivers in Belfast when it came to the history of the area, so I decided to buy it.

And that’s my haul for this week.  Please post your comments and haul links in the box below and I look forward to seeing more bookish ideas for my collection.

Happy reading!!!

9 thoughts on “Book Haul:Showcase Sunday/Letterbox Love/Stacking The Shelves/Bought, Borrowed & Bagged – 30 March 2013

  1. For a prequel, The New Hunger was pretty much amazing. I really love his writing. Warm Bodies was a favourite of mine back in 2011. I couldn’t get enough. This one works really well as a standalone too.

  2. Mila 2.0 looks right up my alley reading-wise. I’ve had a copy of Coffeehouse Angel on my shelves forever but have not gotten around to reading it yet. Hope you enjoy all your books!

    The Monster Report

Leave a Reply

