Birthday Haul

Hi everyone,

I know, it’s not the normal day for a haul post, but I was busy over the weekend with the type of things you do for a birthday and I didn’t want to leave it too long.  My haul is basically in two parts –  e-books and theatre stuff.

E-Books

 

Before I Die

“Before I Die” by Jenny Downham

I saw the film adaptation of this novel, “Now Is Good”, a few weeks ago.  I was impressed by the handling of a really sensitive subject and, in particular, the performances by Dakota Fanning in the role of Tessa and Paddy Considine in the role of Tessa’s father.

There was a real sense of what Dylan Thomas conveyed in his poem “Do Not Go Gentle Into That Good Night” as the Tessa in the film adaptation rages “against the dying of the light” by using the time she has left to her to live on her terms including having sex and carrying out numerous illegal acts.

I’ve heard that it’s a book that brings out a mixture of emotions and it has been on my “To Buy” list for a while.

 

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

“The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society” by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows

This is a book that I’ve noticed regularly in bookstores and supermarket book sections and the title has intrigued me since I first saw it.

I like the idea that the story is told through the correspondence of the two lead characters, plus the book was a bargain, which led me to follow up on my initial interest.

 

An Invisible Sign of My Own

“An Invisible Sign of My Own” by Aimee Bender

I’ve yet to fully watch the film adaptation of this book starring Jessica Alba, but the quirky opening where the lead character, Mona, recounts the bedtime story that was told to her by her father, along with her withdrawal from life following her father’s illness, led me to be interested in the book.

 

White Bones

“White Bones” by Graham Masterton

This was a book that I decided to take a chance on as it cost less than £1.  I believe that there are some gruesome passages within it, but for the price of the book, it wouldn’t matter too much if I don’t finish it.

 

The Universe Versus Alex Woods

“The Universe Versus Alex Woods” by Gavin Extence

This is another book that I was drawn to after seeing it in numerous bookstores.  The whole plot screams out “quirky” to me so I thought I would like to give it go, especially as this was another bargain.

 

War Horse (War Horse, #1)

“War Horse” by Michael Morpurgo

I already have this book in paperback, but I wanted to get a copy for my Kindle.

I’ve seen the stage show (twice), the film and went to a reading of the novel by Michael Morpurgo himself and enjoyed each performance, so I am looking forward to reading the book itself.

 

 

Theatre Haul

“The Woman In Black”

The first play that I got tickets for was for the touring version of “The Woman In Black” at The Lowry in Salford.

I have seen this play four times now and each time it still holds surprises and entertains without fail (especially when you have screamers in the audience).

Please check out my review.

 

“Sherlock Holmes – The Best Kept Secret”

I am a fan of the Sherlock Holmes stories, along with the adaptations by Granada Television in the 1980’s and 1990’s starring Jeremy Brett, “Sherlock” starring Benedict Cumberbatch (Okay, I can hear a scream by “The Cumber Collective”) and Martin Freeman, and the two films starring Robert Downey Jr. and Jude Law.

I was already looking to go to see this play, so imagine my surprise when I got tickets for the UK tour in June at the Opera House in Manchester.

 

Adam Hills – “Happyism”

This is one of those occasions where my family and I are totally in sync.  I first heard about Adam Hills after his stint in presenting “The Last Leg” during the Channel 4 coverage of the Paralympic Games.

I love his blunt humour and I was seriously toying with getting tickets for his gig at The Lowry in October.  So, again, imagine my surprise when my family gave me tickets for that particular gig.

Just goes to show you, even at 41, my family never fails to surprise me.  (I love ’em)

 

Finally, just a quick shout out to everyone who tweeted me a birthday tweet.  You’re all awesome and you really made my day. x

2 thoughts on “Birthday Haul

  1. I absolutely LOVE Guernsey. It’s one of my favorite books of all time. I could read and reread it again and again. It’s fabulous! I hope you love it.

    Nice haul, and hope your birthday was great!

    • Thank you.

      Yes, my birthday was awesome. It was, understandably, quieter than last year but my trip to the theatre, along with the lovely tweets from everyone and being with my folks, really made my day.

      “Guernsey” was one of those “Should I? Shouldn’t I?” books but the price was very reasonable and I liked the format, so I decided “Yes, I should.”

Leave a Reply

