Reading Goals and Real Life – A look back on 2013

Ohhhhhhh, I started with such high hopes way back on January 1st 2013.  Last year, I read fifty books.  Granted, it was a struggle but completion of this objective made me feel like I had achieved something.

This year, I wanted to relax a little bit in my reading habit.  Give myself some time to actually enjoy the books I had selected to read.  Unfortunately, 2013 had other plans for me and I’m now at the point where I’m nowhere near my reading goal with just over a week to go.  (I’ve only read twenty-one books this year at the time of writing).  But, I’m going to be objective here and ask whether my inability to meet this goal is a failure.  From a personal point of view, I’m going to say, “No”.

Whilst I’ve not met a personal objective in my reading habit, I felt that I’ve done other things which I would happily trade off reading books against:

– I read three “chunkster” books.  Admittedly, they were a difficult proposition, but thoroughly worth the effort;

– I’ve been to Ireland where I managed to conquer my fear of heights by crossing the Carrick-A-Rede rope bridge and seeing the beautiful Giant’s Causeway;

– I’ve been to my first major live athletics event at the Olympic Stadium in London – something that has kicked on my passion for the sport and will see me attend further events during 2014;

– On a further sporting note, I’ve been to three major Rugby League finals, including a World Cup final;

– I’ve made new friends through books and general “geekery”;

– I went to my first ever comedy gig.  (If you ever get the chance to see Adam Hills live, grab it with both hands);

– I’ve been to the Netherlands for the first time and met my blogger bestie, Mendy, for the first time;

– As part of my visit to the Netherlands, I visited a theme park and conquered another fear of rollercoasters (okay, I was a wee bit nervy, but I enjoyed the experience), I’ve seen beautiful art by Vincent Van Gogh and Rembrandt and had the privilege to visit the Anne Frank House.

– And, just to round off my Dutch experience, I’ve eaten raw herring, Bossche ballen, Bitterballen and Oliebollen for the first time;

 

Granted, I missed out on not hitting my reading target, but, as yet, the sky hasn’t fallen on my head.  Real life has taken more of a focus this year and without wishing to sound like an Oscar speech I feel richer for the experiences I’ve gained in real life.

 

I will look to read more books next year.  I may succeed, I may not, but if 2013 is anything to go by, I’ll look to enjoy the life outside the pages of the book, alongside the adventures that I experience within.

5 thoughts on “Reading Goals and Real Life – A look back on 2013

  1. Lovely review of your year! It sounds like you were blessed with many adventures, no matter if they were in books or in the wonderful real world.
    May 2014 provide you with many more opportunities to expand your imagination!

    • Hi,

      Thanks for your comment.

      Whilst I was hoping to read the number of books I set, after all I did it last year… just, it just wasn’t possible this year.

      I’m glad to have had the experiences that I did have last year abd I already have stuff planned for 2014.

      Hope that you and yours have a lovely Christmas.

  2. Reading about all the places you went in Europe makes me sooo jealous!! What a fantastic year for you! Hope 2014 is just as fun and you have a lot more new experiences!

    • Thanks for visiting, Angie.

      My trip to The Netherlands wouldn’t have happened if it weren’t for Mendy, so I will always be grateful of the opportunity she gave me and, with luck, she’ll be visiting me at some point in the near future.

      If you ever get the chance to visit Holland, please take it as it is a fantastic experience.

    • Oh, and I would highly recommend a trip to Ireland – the people are really friendly, the food is fantastic and there’s plenty to see there. Again, it was down to a fantastic friend who I’ve known for nearly twenty years.

Leave a Reply

