The Great British Sherlock Read Off

It’s the start of a new year and we’ve all got ideas about what we want to do as far a Reading Challenges are concerned…  Well, almost.

I believe that part of the problem with my reading challenge of last year was that I virtually replicated the challenge of 2012.  This, along with real life issues, meant that I didn’t read as much as what I’d hoped.

So, what do I do to maintain the interest?  Little did I know that the answer was staring me, or should I say transmitting to me, in the face.

After watching the last episode from the current season of “Sherlock” last night, I realised that although I have a knowledge of which stories inspired the stories written by Steven Moffat, Mark Gatiss and Stephen Thompson, this knowledge has primarily come from the television series produced by Granada Television (an independent television company based in the UK for my non-UK readers) which was transmitted in the 1980’s and 1990’s and starred Jeremy Brett as Holmes and David Burke as Watson for the first season of programmes followed by Edward Hardwicke for the remainder of the programme’s run which finished in 1994.  I had never read the original works by Conan Doyle.

Brett and Hardwicke

So, with the prospect of another two years to wait until the next season of “Sherlock” (I hope to be proven wrong with the next season being transmitted arriving earlier than 2016), I’ve decided to set myself a little side challenge of reading all 60 of Conan Doyle’s Holmes novels and short stories.

Sherlock Challenge

Now, this would be too large a challenge to read all at once and I’m not going to even try.  So, to put some structure in this and to prevent boredom and the perils of “DNF”, I’ll be mixing this challenge with my main reading challenge and looking to write a post about each individual story.

I hope you check out these posts and please let me know if you’re going to try out this challenge.

Cumberbatch and Freeman

“The Game Is On!!!”

Thank you to Mendy from the “Hot Cute Girly Geek” blog for the inspiration for the title of this challenge.

5 thoughts on “The Great British Sherlock Read Off

  1. The Sherlock Holmes books are SOOO good. I’m not a huge classics fan (most bore me to tears to be honest; the language is just so dry) but Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s words don’t really age.

    I hope you enjoy reading them all! I’ve read a few of the short stories and all of the novels (The Hound of the Baskervilles is my favourite 🙂 ) I should find out if I’ve got the whole series, I’m tempted to read all of the short story anthologies now!

    • I must admit that I do have the same problem with classics. I tried to read Little Dorrit and had to give up due to the language.

      After seeing the Sherlock episode “A Study In Pink” I must admit that although there are understandable differences between the original and the Sherlock version, the television version is incredibly true to the original apart from the motive behind the crimes.

      I’m really looking forward to framing what I know from Sherlock and the Granada Television adaptations from the stories with the stories.

      Thanks for visiting. 🙂

Leave a Reply

