Book Haul – 18 January 2014

Showcase Sunday banner

Showcase Sunday is a meme hosted by Vicky over at the Book, Biscuits and Tea blog to let readers know what book related items have come our way.

Letterbox Love is a meme hosted by Lynsey over at Narratively Speaking and this meme has a British feel to it.

I’ve opted to use the logo designed by Faye over at A Daydreamer’s Thoughts rather than the “official” one because I’m a sucker for old fashioned red postboxes.

STSmall

The Stacking The Shelves meme hosted by Tynga at Tynga’s Reviews to promote the books that we’re adding to our shelves.

Finally, the Bought, Borrowed & Bagged meme hosted by Cimarron and Braine over at the Talk Supe blog.

 

Hi everyone and I hope to find you all well this weekend.

Well, after the luxury of the last three weeks where I’ve been able to buy books using the vouchers I received for Christmas, it’s back to buying my own and I decided to treat myself to a few bargains from my Wish List.

Doctor Who: Into the Nowhere (Time Trips)

“Doctor Who (Time Trips): Into The Nowhere” by Jenny T. Colgan

For the benefit of anyone who doesn’t know about this range, the BBC have started releasing short stories from well-known authors, similar in the way that Puffin did last year for their “Doctor Who” 50th anniversary range.

This month, Jenny Colgan, author of “Meet Me At The Cupcake Cafe”, “Welcome to Rosie Hopkins’ Sweetshop of Dreams” and the full length “Doctor Who” novel, “Dark Horizons”, takes us on a journey with the eleventh Doctor and Clara as they travel to an unknown planet where there are no records held in the TARDIS data banks.

I enjoyed “Dark Horizons“, especially for the fact that she captured the eleventh Doctor perfectly, so I’m really looking forward to how she’s written the partnership between the Doctor and Clara.

 

Adventures with the Wife in Space: Living With Doctor Who

“Adventures With The Wife In Space: Living With Doctor Who” by Neil Perryman and Sue Perryman

I heard about this book through the Whovian websites and waited until it came down in price before purchasing it.  Basically, the premise of this book is that we follow Neil and Sue in their quest to watch all of the classic episodes of “Doctor Who” from 1963’s “An Unearthly Child” through to the 1996 television movie starring Paul McGann.

 

The City's Son - The Skyscraper Throne 1

“The City’s Son” by Tom Pollock

I heard about this book through the haul posts last year and kept a casual eye on it due to the story’s premise of being set in a version of London that sits alongside the one we know.  After reading “Neverwhere” last year, I’m looking forward to getting round to reading this book.

 

READING UPDATE

I started my quest to read all of the Sherlock Holmes stories written by Conan Doyle, which has been given the banner “The Great British Sherlock Read Off” thanks to my friend Mendy from the “Hot Cute Girly Geek”, with “A Study In Scarlet” and you can check out my thoughts here.

In addition to this, I started reading “Behind The Sofa” which features stories from celebrity fans of their remembrances of “Doctor Who”.

Behind the Sofa: Celebrity Memories of Doctor Who

 

As always, please feel free to leave your comments and haul links below.

 

44 thoughts on “Book Haul – 18 January 2014

  1. Nice haul! I added Adventures with the Wife in Space to my wishlist a few weeks ago after reading a few pages on the blog, it sounds hilarious so looking forward to hearing what you think of it. The City’s Son is fantastic, thoroughly enjoyed it and hopefully I’ll get to the sequel soon! Enjoy your new books and happy reading 🙂

    Here’s my Haul!

    • Thank you.

      As I said, I heard about “Adventures” through the websites and the Whovian podcasts and the whole premise of a journey through the Classic stories, which formed a huge chunk of my childhood and teen years, was intriguing to read.

      As for The City’s Son, I’ll look to read it once my schedule is a little less full. 🙂

    • Thank you for visiting.

      I’m really looking forward to Jenny’s new novella because I enjoyed “Dark Horizons” as she really got to grips with Matt’s incarnation of the Doctor.

      I’m also looking forward to the “Tales of Trenzalore” anthology that’s released next month – It’s already on my Wish List. 🙂

    • Hi Scott (love the name, by the way).

      Thank you for visiting. Missing out?!?!? Noooooooo, you have the opportunity for the journey of discovery.

      If you want any classic episode suggestions, feel free to let me know.

    • Thank you for visiting.

      Yes, I love the retro look of the letterbox. There’s one just around the corner from where I live.

      I agree with your view on the specials. I actually went to the cinema to see the fiftieth anniversary special on 23rd November and loved the experience of seeing it with a full house of Whovians. 🙂

    • Firstly, I’ll start with saying that I love your name. Reminds me of when I met Katy Manning who played Jo during Jon Pertwee’s time as the Doctor.

      It is sad when the gift cards run out, but hey, it won’t stop me from getting books every now and then.

      Thank you for visiting. 🙂

  2. I’m not too sure I wanna try TV show books. I am kind of skeptical about such things. I did read Sherlock’s TV book and liked it though so I might enjoy these, too, since I really like DW as well.
    I hope you like these!
    Happy reading!

    • Hi Ula,

      I’ve known well-written “Who” and… not so well written “Who”. I recommend Jenny’s first book because it’s a DW episode with a larger scope, plus she really gets Matt’s portrayal.

      I can also recommend Dan Abnett’s novel, “The Silent Stars Go By” as he manages to get the feel of a Christmas special as well as including not only the Eleventh Doctor, but Amy and Rory as well.

      Thanks for visiting. 🙂

    • Hi Laura.

      All I’d suggest is if you ever want to dip your toe into the Doctor Who water is try to watch “Rose” which was transmitted in 2005 and stars Christopher Eccleston as the Doctor. It’s basically a reboot for the series and a great starting point.

      Thanks for visiting. 🙂

Leave a Reply

